This Community is For Sale - For more information contact: admin@calhockey.com

Author Topic: Bantam A or AA vs High School  (Read 6083 times)

toma_13

• Mite
  • LR Justice +0/-0
Bantam A or AA vs High School
« on: July 07, 2020, 09:45:58 AM »
I'm relatively new to moving my son up the ladder as he progresses (2nd year Bantam).  My choice is Bantam (either A or AA) or LAKHSL (JV or Varsity depending which one he makes)....  Can any of you experienced parents let me know of the main differences in both quality and price between Club and High School League?   Son is solid team player but not "star" quality.   Thank you.

Hockey sophist

• Peewee
  • LR Justice +50/-98
Re: Bantam A or AA vs High School
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2020, 12:26:05 PM »
I'm relatively new to moving my son up the ladder as he progresses (2nd year Bantam).  My choice is Bantam (either A or AA) or LAKHSL (JV or Varsity depending which one he makes)....  Can any of you experienced parents let me know of the main differences in both quality and price between Club and High School League?   Son is solid team player but not "star" quality.   Thank you.
We had a similar choice last season.   BNAA or D-1 HS?   He had played BNAA the year before and it was appealing to play for his school.   D-1 was definitely more competitive than typical BNAA although if the choice is a club team like the Bears, Saints, or Kings it could be a tossup.   Probably depends on the coach and your son's social preference.  D-1 in ADHSL was competitive and out-of-state tournaments, especially in Minnesota, offered tough competition.   The opponents are bigger, faster, and more physical than BNAA.  Our son matched most HS opponents physically but he still played a little intimidated at times.  Some of these opponents are 18. It did teach him to pass quicker.